Steeped in tradition, L.E. Cafe Confectionery & Pastry is one of Singapore's oldest and finest cake and pastry shops. Our long and illustrious history (over 50 years) will attest to our growing reputation for the renowned quality and unique taste of our products.
Our selections are 100% crafted by hand, and contain no pork or lard. From award-winning pastries to customised cakes, we have something perfect for any occasion.
Established in 1949, we started out as an eating house at 264 Middle Road, David Elias Building.
At that time, we served Chinese food (tze char), cakes, pastries and drinks.
In 1975, we began operating as a cafe - L.E. Cafe Confectionery & Pastry, concentrating wholly on cakes and bread. Some of our offerings were Buttercream Cakes, Cream Puffs, Swiss Rolls, Apple Strudel, Chicken Pies, Cheese Sticks etc. Customers would come in to enjoy their cake and coffee or tea.
Some time in the 1990s, we revamped our business model and converted our bakery/cafe to a takeaway shop.
This was also the time when we introduced our "Golf Ball" Pineapple Tarts.
In 2000, we added Bean Curd Tarts to our menu.
We opened our 2 branches, at Cambridge Road, in 2007 and Veerasamy Road, in 2009.
In Nov 2018, we relocated our main shop from our original premises at 264 Middle Road to our current location at 31/33 Mackenzie Road.